Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to those who are, or are remembering… My dad went work to work at 15 (general shop work and building wooden car bodies for what was then Fisher Body, eventually a division of General Motors. The company was good to him; he stayed 49 1/2 years… Survived two world wars (tried to enlist but was 4F’d – he was a little guy, with a big voice…), the Great Depression, and me. A kind and gentle man, not without his opinions, conservative, not a fan of Catholics (or at least the Catholic Church), but bore no malice nor lifted a finger to anyone. People who talked to him on the phone always thought he was 6’5″ and 230 lbs, till they met him and found out he was 5’6″ and 130…:) When he got angry, not often, that voice was a force, and you knew you had done wrong, but then just as quickly, the tempest was over, and love was back in the room. Made it to his 85th year, mostly in good to fair health, until the end. I, unfortunately will not match, or even come close to that. He was a Grandmaster Mason, and rests alongside my mom, in the lodge section of the main cemetery in my hometown. I was never able to give him a grandchild, my one significant failing to him. May he have found peace and joy everlasting otherwise…

