Fine tuning Ephemerata Weather Radar continues…

I’m continuing to fine-tune the EWR system, especially the scan triggers. I’ve moved the trigger point to 55 dBZ values (2-4″ rain), as its likely the 50 dBZ levels will be fairly common, and while heavy precip may occur, its not necessarily severe. I may drop this back to 50 for snow conditions, since snowfall may be heavier than the radar suggests due to reduced reflectivity of snow compared to rain. The system sent out three alerts last evening based on a line of heavy rain cells moving along the Niagara Peninsula. Interestingly, it didn’t trigger until the line coalesced some. It was after this email burst that I raised the threshold. There would have been several more alerts generated had I not done that. I think its reasonable to hold the alerts until the “red cells” have a darker red (55dBZ) core, signifying more intense cells. I can further adjust the sensitivity but this will have to come on the basis of trial and error. I’ve also updated the page notes further with more interpretive information, and you can now enlarge the display map by clicking on it. Email or comment opinions if you wish.

